Step 1

Let’s start from the beginning shall we. This is the step we need to get 100% or we probably will go out and try to control our drinking. I will provide the information here as to what step one means to me. Here is step 1, We learned that we had to fully concede to our innermost selves that we were alcoholics. This is the first step in recovery. The delusion that we are like other people, or presently may be, has to be smashed. And by smashed he means completely destroyed. Take a coffee cup for example and smash it on the ground, are you ever going to put it back together again the way it was before, No. Here Bill says why, We alcoholics are men and women who have lost the ability to control our drinking. We know that no real alcoholic ever recovers control. All of us felt at times that we were regaining control, but such intervals – usually brief – were inevitably followed by still less control, which led in time to pitiful and incomprehensible demoralization. We are convinced to a man that alcoholics of our type are in the grip of a progressive illness. Over any considerable period we get worse, never better. I don’t know about you guy’s or girls but that statement sure rang true for me. I got worse and worse and even worse. Here is a powerful statement, We are like men who have lost their legs; they never grow new ones. Well that means to me that I can NEVER drink again but why, I have lost the POWER, THE CHOICE, AND THE CONTROL. Note the word power here, we will discuss that word later. I will end this post with this, Physicians who are familiar with alcoholism agree there is no such thing as making a normal drinker out of an alcoholic.

One response to “Step 1

  1. Great job mike. I agree 100% and it’s funny to me how as the days pass by and without meetings and working the program. My mind will start to tell me that my legs have grown back! Constant surrender to step one and the reminders from people just coming in or coming back remind me that life without recovery is no life at all for this type of alcoholic.

    thank-you for the inspiration
    Ted

Leave a Reply

