The Prayers of the Big Book

In this post we will talk about the prayers of the Big Book of A.A. We will start with the third step prayer. This prayer Is where we make a daily, that’s right a daily decision to turn our will “our thinking” and our life “our actions” over to a power greater than ourselves. The prayer is, in my opinion a very powerful prayer that lets me “accept the things I cannot change”. The prayer is found on page 63 of the Big Book and follows up our “decision” with action. We were now at Step Three. Many of us said to our Maker, as we understood Him: “God, I offer myself to Thee-to build with me and to do with me as Thou wilt. Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy Power, Thy Love, and Thy Way of life. May I do Thy will always!” We thought well before taking this step making sure we were ready; that we could at last abandon ourselves utterly to Him. I don’t know about you but I cannot live my life on self will anylonger. We learned this knowledge in the information before we say this prayer. This is the information our “Sponcer” should have showed us. The Book tells us this! Just what do we mean by that, and just what do we do. The first requirement is that we be convinced that any life run on self-will can hardly be a success. On that basis we are almost always in collision with something or somebody, even though our motives are good. Most people try to live by self-propulsion. Each person is like an actor who wants to run the whole show; is forever trying to arrange the lights, the ballet, the scenery and the rest of the players in his own way. If his arrangements would only stay put, if only people would do as he wished, the show would be great. Everybody, including himself, would be pleased. Life would be wonderful. In trying to make these arrangements our actor may sometimes be quite virtuous. He may be kind, considerate, patient, generous; even modest and self-sacrificing. On the other hand, he may be mean, egotistical, selfish and dishonest. But, as with most humans, he is more likely to have varied traits. Is that not true for us or what?

Leave a Reply

